With recreational marijuana already rocking the local cannabis market, it’s essential that medical marijuana patients and recreational cannabis consumers educate themselves on when and how it’s legal to consume marijuana in the Silver State.
Recreational Marijuana in Nevada FAQ
This past November, Nevada, along with eight other states legalized adult use of marijuana — medical and recreational—for adult 21 and older. Despite the legalization of adult use marijuana in Nevada, between January 8th and July 1, 2017, only patients with medical cards were able to buy up to an ounce of cannabis flower buds or an eighth of concentrate at a time—in Nevada, all purchases are tracked and weighed according to cannabinoid concentration.
Because the State of Nevada had yet to establish a legal framework for the implementation and regulation for recreational marijuana sales and consumption, the first recreational sales did not begin until this July.
Now, as liquor vendors and cannabis companies battle over distribution rights in court and dispensaries are quickly emptying their stockpiles, it’s clear Nevada is venturing into uncharted waters. As we ride the current of growth, here the answers to commonly asked questions about recreational marijuana:
So long as you are not under its influence and it is less than the legal limit, yes, you can drive with weed in your car.
Not under Nevada law. Medical patients risk losing their cards if found sharing their bud. But under the wording of Ballot Question 2, anyone who manages to obtain marijuana can use it legally.
If you live within 25 miles of a Las Vegas marijuana dispensary or Henderson NV dispensary, then no, you cannot. But if you live further than this boundary, you are permitted to grow up to six plants per person and no more than twelve per household.
As of now, you can only smoke, eat, or ingest cannabis in a private residence. Consumption of any kind of marijuana product in public places like parks, national forests, and other urban spaces is prohibited. Until the Nevada legislature legalization public consumption spaces or consumption lounges, you will not be able to smoke in restaurants or bars either.
While you cannot legally purchase marijuana from non-licensed dealers or outside of a dispensary premises, once you have your cannabis, the police will not be able to ask you where you purchased it. Keep in mind that one of the dangers of smoking unlicensed marijuana is that it isn’t lab-tested or guaranteed to be free of carcinogens or pesticides.
According to the legislators who shaped the bill, access to dispensaries will vary by county. Clark County initially considered issuing up to 80 licenses for cultivation, dispensaries, and production facilities during the first 18 months. Washoe stated it would issue 20 licenses while counties with fewer than 55,000 residents will only be able to issue two licenses.
You simply must display an official state document that states your age (like a driver’s license, passport, etc.) and you may walk into any marijuana dispensary to buy yourself cannabis flowers or products, just like at the liquor store. When shopping, it’s important to remember to have cash on hand though because federal laws mean that as of now, all dispensary transactions must be in cash.
Although it has been decriminalized in Nevada, marijuana is still a federally illegal drug. As a Schedule 1 drug it is considered dangerous and highly addictive, despite a growing body of research that counteracts the federal government’s scheduling of the drug.
No. Due to federal marijuana prohibition, it’s still illegal to cross state lines with marijuana from Colorado or California. However, once you’ve entered the state, police cannot make you answer questions regarding where you bought your cannabis.